Startups Need Fewer Visionaries and More Mechanics

Everyone claims to be an expert, but can they really help you build your business?

Joe Procopio
Marker

--

A group of miniature builders trying to erect and pull a giant gold key.
Image: Paper Boat Creative/Stone/Getty Images

There are three types of people an entrepreneur needs to build a successful business: employees to build the company, advisers to influence the direction of the business, and investors to provide the fuel and connections.

Within each of these three groups, there are a lot of folks who will call themselves “startup experts,” but there are very few with the experience to help you build something from idea to reality and generate revenue. If I had to pick one adage that I rely on most often as a startup founder, it’s this: There is no single best practice for any aspect of building a new company. That’s why, even after 20-plus years working on a dozen startups, I don’t call myself a startup expert. Because in my mind, there is no such thing.

If you’re the idea person, don’t hire another idea person for help.

When I build something, I’m not relying on my expertise — I’m relying on my experience. It may seem like a trivial difference. It’s not.

The difference between expertise and experience

--

--

Joe Procopio
Marker
Writer for

I'm a multi-exit, multi-failure entrepreneur. NLG pioneer. Building TeachingStartup.com & GROWERS. Write at Inc.com and BuiltIn.com. More at joeprocopio.com