How Entrepreneurs Decide Which Meetings to Take and Which to Ditch

Avoid useless coffees without missing out on real opportunities

Joe Procopio
Marker

--

Photo: PhotoAlto/Frederic Cirou/Getty Images

I still take too many meetings.

Even after 20 years in the business of being an entrepreneur, I wind up booking at least one useless meeting a month. I’m probably not going to change my ways because I’m at a point in my career where my radar is probably as finely tuned as it’s going to get, and wasting an hour here or there is no big deal.

Let that be my first point: Being an entrepreneur isn’t a laser-focused vocation. Far from it. I personally know a few successful entrepreneurs who never have time for anyone. Don’t become that — it’s a rough way to live.

“I just want to pick your brain” means there’s a sales pitch involved.

At the same time, the vast majority of entrepreneurs drown themselves in meetings, phone calls, events, webinars, and pointless social media exchanges. There’s no reason to live like that either. So I’m going to give you a guide for these maneuvers:

  • Getting over the feeling that every chance encounter could be an opportunity
  • Deciding where your precious time should be spent

--

--

Joe Procopio
Marker
Writer for

I'm a multi-exit, multi-failure entrepreneur. NLG pioneer. Building TeachingStartup.com & GROWERS. Write at Inc.com and BuiltIn.com. More at joeprocopio.com