Inside the Bizarre, Boozy World of a Junior VC in Silicon Valley

Welcome to an industry filled with 21-year-olds, open bars, and very little business experience

Mike Raab
Marker

--

Business executives doing handshake while greeting during office party at conference
Photo: Maskot/Getty Images

AA lot of people want to be venture capitalists. People outside of the industry assume that there’s no cooler professional calling than investing other peoples’ money into sexy startup companies. But for those lucky enough to break into the industry, the truth is often less appealing than the mirage.

I’ll preface my story by stressing that this was my experience and is not representative of every VC’s experience. But I’m pretty sure it’s more common than uncommon.

I moved to San Francisco in January 2018 to join a brand-new venture capital firm as the first non-partner on the team. I had zero experience in the industry, and to be honest, I didn’t know what to expect or what I was supposed to do.

One of the first surprises I encountered, having five years of professional experience in the entertainment industry under my belt, was the sheer volume of recent college graduates who held analyst and associate roles at venture firms. From my perspective, hiring 21- and 22-year-olds (who are also mostly white men) with zero experience in the professional world to evaluate businesses and investment opportunities…

--

--