The Biggest Startup Strategy Myth (and How to Deal With It)

Your company will never grow bigger than the initial strategy behind it

Feliks Eyser
Marker

--

Image: Constantine Johnny/Moment/Getty Images

“We have a strategic plan. It’s called doing things.”

— Herb Kelleher (co-founder of Southwest Airlines)

InIn my early years, that quote hung in our office and it was reflected in my leadership. I remember an employee telling me that he wanted to work “more strategically,” and I had no idea what he meant. In my mind, our company’s strategy was clear and only execution could make all the difference. My company nearly failed because of that lack of insight.

Nowadays I couldn’t disagree more with the quote, and I think it’s misleading for startup founders. It’s naive to think that strategy is a discipline only used by big companies and devised by overpaid consultants.

The strategy is the limit

Today I think about it this way: Strategy determines the magnitude of any endeavor and execution determines the degree of achievement.

Success = Strategy (1–∞) x Execution (0–1).

--

--

Feliks Eyser
Marker

Tech founder & investor from 🇩🇪. Sharing experiences for first-time founders💡🛠🚀